

Newton Citizens Commission on Energy City of Newton, Massachusetts

http://www.newtonma.gov/government/climate-and-sustainability/citizens-commission-on-energy

Halina S. Brown, Chair

Cory Alperstein Michael Gevelber Stephen Grody Asa Hopkins Jonathan Kantar Jon Slote Jay Snyder Rachel White Ann Berwick (ex-officio) Bill Ferguson (ex-officio)

Advisory Members:
Peter Barrer
Beverly Craig
Ellie Goldberg
Philip Hanser
Bob Persons
Nathan Phillips
James Purdy
Philip Vergragt

Meeting Summary: October 25th, 2023

Present: Asa Hopkins, Cory Alperstein, Jon Slote, Michael Gevelber, Bob Persons, Stephen Grody, Jonathan Kantar, Halina Brown, Jay Snyder, Phil Hanser, Jane Hanser.

1. Transition of leadership.

With Halina stepping down from the Commission on November 1, a vote was taken on two candidates for co-chairs of NCCE. As Hopkins and Phil Hanser received unanimous and enthusiastic support to be new co-chairs. Since Phil is waiting for his imminent re-appointment to NCCA by the Mayor, his election will become valid when that appointment is formally confirmed.

Halina will help the new co-chairs to learn the mechanics of the position and will share her overall accumulated experience. She will become an Advisory Member.

2. Overview of NCCE's core philosophy and the opportunities ahead. Halina gave a power point presentation of the core principles she followed as the Chair and her view of the priorities for the NCCE's work ahead. The PPT deck is attached to this summary.

We took a picture of the members and associate members of NCCE (with one member on Zoom and one member unfortunately missing). See below:

