# **Employment Permit Application for 14 through 17 Year-Olds**

**Instructions**: After completing the form and obtaining the required signatures as indicated, take this completed form to the Superintendent of Schools, or the person your school (including a charter school) has authorized to issue work permits, in the school district where you live or attend school. You should bring with you proof of your age, such as your birth certificate, passport, or immigration record. The Superintendent, or the person your school (including a charter school) has authorized to issue work permits, will then issue you an Employment Permit.

Bring the signed work permit back to your employer who must keep it until you leave the job.

Questions about this application should be directed to the Department of Labor Standards at (617) 626-6952.

<del>\_\_\_\_\_\_</del>

If you are under 18 years of age, you must obtain a work permit before starting a new job. G.L. c. 149, §§86-89. The following are the steps you should take; **please note that a Physicians** Certificate of Health is required only of 14 and 15 year-olds.

### **Steps for Getting an Employment Permit**

- 1. Obtain a job offer from an employer.
- 2. Ask the employer to complete the following section:

### **Promise of Employment**

Name of Minor:
Name of Employer:
Business Address:
Job Title & Primary Duties:
Number of Hours per day Minor is to be Employed:
The undersigned agrees to employ this minor as stated above and in compliance with state law.
A summary of laws governing minors' hours of work and hazardous occupations can be
found at the end of this application form.
Signature of Employer or Authorized Agent

NOTE: If the minor seeking an employment permit resides outside of Massachusetts, the minor should obtain a work permit from the superintendent of schools in the city/town in Massachusetts where the minor is to be employed.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Minors who are 17 years of age, who can show documented proof of a high school diploma or the equivalent to the school official authorized to issue work permits, do not need a signed work permit, but must still complete this permit application.

<b>Note:</b> The following Certificate of Health must be signed <b>within 12 months</b> of the date this application is presented to the school official issuing the permit.
Physician's Certificate of Health
I hereby certify that I have made a thorough physical examination of the following named 14 or 15 year-old minor:
and that, in my opinion, said minor is in sufficiently sound health and physically able to perform the work indicated above. A summary of laws governing minors' hours of work and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of this application form.
Signature of Physician
4. Ask your parent, guardian, or custodian to sign below.
I hereby approve the issuance of a permit for the work indicated above. A summary of laws governing minors' hours of work and hazardous occupations can be found at the end of this application form.
Name of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian

3. For 14 and 15 year-olds only (16 and 17 year-olds may skip this step): Ask your doctor to

complete the following section:

5. Sign this application below:

Signature of Minor

Signature of Parent, Guardian, or Custodian

# Summary of Massachusetts<sup>2</sup> Laws Regulating Minors' Work Hours and Occupation Restrictions

### **Prohibited Jobs (Hazardous Orders)**

**Persons under 14 may not work:** There are a few exceptions to this such as working as news carriers, on farms, and in entertainment (with a special permit).

# Persons under 16 years old may *NOT*:

- Operate, clean or repair power-driven machinery (except office machines or machines in retail or food service not otherwise prohibited)
- Cook (except on electric or gas grills that do not have open flames)
- Operate fryolators, rotisseries, NEICO broilers, or pressure cookers
- Operate, clean or repair power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, processors, cutters and mixers
- Perform any baking activities
- Operate microwave ovens (except to heat food in microwave ovens with a maximum capacity of 140 degrees Fahrenheit)
- Clean kitchen surfaces that are hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit
- Filter, transport, or dispose of cooking oil or grease hotter than 100 degrees Fahrenheit
- Work in freezers or meat coolers
- Work in a manufacturing facility or occupation (e.g., in a factory, as an assembler)
- Work on ladders, scaffolds or their substitutes
- Work in garages, except dispensing gas and oil
- Work in brick or lumber yards
- Work in amusement places (e.g., pool or billiard room, or bowling alley)
- Work in barber shops
- Work in construction, transportation, communications, or public utilities (except doing clerical work away from heavy machinery off the job-site)
- Work in warehouses (except doing clerical work)
- Load or unload trucks, railroad cars, or conveyors
- Ride in or on a motor vehicle (except in a passenger seat wearing a seatbelt)
- Wash windows in public or commercial buildings if the window sill is more than 10 feet above the ground

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> This is a compilation of state and federal child labor laws. The most protective laws are presented here and apply to all employers of teens including parents who may employ their children. There are additional regulations in this area not summarized here and some exceptions for employers in agricultural industries. Questions about the state child labor laws should be directed to the Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General, Fair Labor and Business Practices Division (617-727-3465). Questions about federal child labor laws should be directed to the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division (617-624-6700).

- Work doing laundry in a commercial laundry or dry cleaning establishment
- Work as a public messenger
- Work at processing operations (e.g., in meat, fish, or poultry processing or cracking nuts, bulk or mass mailing)
- Work around boilers or in engine rooms
- Do industrial homework
- Work with dangerous electrical machinery or appliances
- Work that is determined by the Massachusetts Attorney General to be dangerous to the health and well-being of minors
- Work in any of the occupations or tasks prohibited for persons under age 18

### Persons under 18 years old may *NOT*:

- Drive a vehicle, forklift or work assist vehicle (except golf carts in certain circumstances)
- Ride as a passenger in a forklift
- Operate, clean or repair power-driven meat slicers, grinders or choppers
- Operate, clean or repair power-driven bakery machines (except for certain countertop models and pizza dough rollers)
- Work 30 feet or more above ground or water
- Handle, serve, or sell alcoholic beverages
- Use circular or band saws, guillotine shears, wood chippers, or abrasive cutting discs
- Use power-driven woodworking machines
- Use, service, drive or work from hoisting machines
- Operate or load power-driven paper balers, compactors, or other power-driven paper processing machines
- Use power-driven metal-forming, punching, or shearing machines
- Use buffing or polishing equipment
- Manufacture brick, tile, or kindred products
- Manufacture or store explosives
- Work in excavation, wrecking, demolition, or shipbreaking
- Work in forest fire fighting, forest fire prevention, timber track operations or forestry service
- Work in logging, sawmilling, or mining
- Work slaughtering, packing, or processing meat or poultry
- Work in railway operations
- Work in roofing or on or about a roof
- Work in foundries or around blast furnaces
- Work manufacturing phosphorus or phosphorus matches
- Work where they are exposed to radioactive substances
- Work as a firefighter or engineer on a boat
- Oil or clean hazardous machinery in motion
- Work in any job requiring the possession or use of a firearm\*

Tasks not specifically permitted by the US DOL Secretary of Labor are prohibited. Legal Work Hours for Teens in Massachusetts **Note:** After 8:00 p.m., all minors must have the direct and immediate supervision of an adult supervisor who is located in the workplace and is reasonably accessible to the minor, unless the minor works at a kiosk, cart or stand in the common area of an enclosed shopping mall that has security from 8:00 p.m. until the mall is closed to the public.\*

# 14 and 15 Year Olds

### **Work Hours**

Only between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during the school year Not during school hours
Only between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during the summer (from July 1 through Labor Day)

### **Maximum Hours When School Is in Session**

18 hours a week 3 hours a day on school days 8 hours a day Saturday, Sunday, holidays 6 days a week

### **Maximum Hours When School Is Not in Session**

40 hours a week 8 hours a day 6 days a week

# 16 and 17 Year Olds

# Work Hours\*

Only between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. (on nights preceding a regularly scheduled school day) – if the establishment stops serving clients or customers at 10:00 p.m., the minor may be employed until 10:15 p.m.

Only between 6 a.m. and 11:30 p.m. (on nights <u>not</u> preceding a regularly scheduled school day). <u>Exception for restaurants and racetracks</u>: only between 6 a.m. and 12:00 midnight (on nights <u>not</u> preceding a regularly scheduled school day).

### Maximum Hours of Work - Whether or Not School is in Session

48 hours a week 9 hours a day 6 days a week

<sup>\*</sup> Indicates a change MA Child Labor Laws, effective date January 3, 2007.