City of Newton



The Honorable Governor Maura Healey Office of the Constituent Services Massachusetts State House, 24 Beacon St. Office of the Governor, Room 280 Boston, MA 02133

March 8, 2024

RE: Proposed North Airfield Expansion at Hanscom Airport

Dear Governor Healey,

We, the undersigned Newton City Councilors, extend our appreciation that you have made reducing the harm of the climate crisis one of your priorities.

Newton is one of the leading communities with an ambitious climate action plan and one of the municipalities allowed to require electrification on all new and major renovations. We have installed over 16K solar panels on public buildings and parking lots and 22 EV chargers throughout the city and have taken other measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. We are currently studying other areas that will further reduce our greenhouse gas emissions. We do not want to see these efforts negated due to increased private jet travel.

Therefore, as Newton City Councilors, we oppose the expansion of private jet facilities at Hanscom Field, or elsewhere, for private luxury travel because such an expansion is contrary to the urgent need to reduce the Commonwealth's greenhouse gas emissions and environmental justice goals. It is neither appropriate nor equitable to enable the ultra-wealthy to exacerbate the loss and damage caused by the climate crisis.

We urge the governor to take all possible actions to prevent the private jet hangar expansion from proceeding at Hanscom Field.

Sincerely yours,

Andreae Downs, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 5 Maria Greenberg, Ward Councilor, Ward 1 Alison Leary, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 1 Susan Albright, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 2 Tarik Lucas, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 2 David Micley, Ward Councilor, Ward 2 Andrea Kelley, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 3 Pamela Wright, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 3 Julia Malakie, Ward Councilor, Ward 3 Bill Humphrey, Ward Councilor, Ward 5

City Council

2024-2025

Rena Getz, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 5 Martha Bixby, Ward Councilor, Ward 6 Vicki Danberg, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 6 Alan Lobovits, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 6 Rebecca Grossman, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 7 David Kalis, Vice President and Councilor-at-Large, Ward 8 Richard Lipof, Councilor-at-Large, Ward 8 Stephen Farrell, Ward Councilor, Ward 8