
 
 
 

 
 

 

Reasons to License Your Dog: 
1. IT’S THE LAW! Living in Newton brings many lifestyle advantages and cultural rewards, but 

there also responsibilities. Good citizens get their dogs licensed. 

2. By licensing your dog, it assures the community that you care about your dog’s 
welfare and took proper steps to vaccinate against rabies. 

 
3. If your dog is lost, a license is the fastest way to find you. 

Even if your dog is microchipped, a license tag is immediately visible and does not require a 
scanning device. 

 
4.  A dog license is just $20/$25 if your dog has been spayed or neutered [or $70/$75 Off-

Leash]. The fine for an unlicensed dog is $50.00. 

For details regarding off-leash parks and any updates, visit Parks, Recreation & Culture: 
newtonma.gov/government/parks-recreation-culture 

or call 617-796-1500 
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Dog License & Off-Leash 
Permit 

Visit us on-line at: 

newtonma.gov/government/ 
city-clerk/dog-licensing 

Dogs residing in Newton must be licensed by 
April 1st every year. 



Pet Safety in an Emergency 
Newton cares about your pet, so please be prepared in case of an emergency. 
Keep a file with: 

♦ A photo of your pet (with you in the photo) 
♦ Current Rabies Certificate 
♦ Current Printed Dog License 

 
Newton Massachusetts Animal Response Team (NMART) will operate shelters for pets in case of large scale 
emergencies or disasters. Visit Animal Control: www.newtonpolice.com/nmart/index.html 

 

There are 7 Off-Leash Permitted Locations:           * = Fully Fenced In 
Braceland Playground: Chestnut St. [bottom tier] 
* Cabot Park: Newtonville Ave. [corner entrance] 
Claflin Playground: Lowell Ave. [gate entrance] 
* Hunnewell Park: Grasmere St. [off Hunnewell Ave. parallel to MA Pike] 
* McGrath Park: Washington St. [gate entrance] 
Newton Centre Playground: Bowen St./Centre St./Homer St./Tyler Ter. [entrances] 
Old Cold Springs Park: Beacon St. [entrance and follow trail] 
 
 
♦ Keep your dog leashed prior to entering and upon exiting. 

 
♦ Do not leave your dog unattended, unattended dogs will be 

impounded by the Newton Police. 
 

♦ You are responsible for immediately removing and properly 
disposing of any fecal waste deposited by your dog. 

 
♦ Your dog must wear a collar with their off-leash dog license 

tag at all times. 
 

♦ Dogs must be at least six months old to visit the off-leash parks.  
             Unspayed dogs in heat are not permitted. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For details regarding off-leash parks and any updates, visit Parks, Recreation & Culture: 
newtonma.gov/government/parks-recreation-culture 

or call 617-796-1500 
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