

Ruthanne Fuller Mayor

Barney S. Heath Director Planning & Development

> Devra G. Bailin, Director Economic Development

Commissioners Phil Plottel, Chair Jean Wood, Vice Chair Debora Jackson, Secretary

> Howard Barnstone Stephen Feller Robert Finkel Jeremy Freid Jack Leader Marcela Merino Beth Nicklas Joyce Plotkin Sarah Rahman Matt Segneri Chuck Tanowitz

1000 Commonwealth Ave. Newton, MA 02459 T 617/796-1120 F 617/796-1142

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AG E N D A DATE: TUESDAY, MAY 12, 2020 TIME: 6:30-8:30 p.m. PLACE: ZOOM CONFERENCE

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/198026272

or +16465588656,,198026272#

- 1. Attendance
- 2. Approval of Minutes of April 7, 2020
- 3. City Updates
- 4. Discussion Items
 - a. Report from Survey Subgroup and discussion thereof
 - b. Report from City Services Subgroup and discussion thereof
 - c. Report from Marketing Subgroup and discussion thereof
 - d. Report from Mentoring Subgroup and discussion thereof
 - e. Recovery Fund Proposal
 - f. Next steps
 - i. "Interview" of survey respondents and incorporate survey data into subgroup section
 - ii. Process to finalize the letter of ideas to the Mayor
 - iii. Need for interim meeting to review draft letter (perhaps week of May 25th)
 - iv. Approval of recommended ideas and the letter to the Mayor (June 9 or sooner)
- 5. Other Business
- 6. Date of next regularly scheduled meeting—June 9, 2020
- 7. Adjournment

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.