



NEWTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE



Newton School Committee Members MAYOR RUTHANNE FULLER-EX OFFICIO

WARD I Bridget Ray-Canada, Vice Chair П Margaret Albright III Anping Shen IV Tamika Olszewski Emily Prenner VI Ruth Goldman, Chair VII Kathy Burdette Shields VIII Matthew Miller

NO IN PERSON PUBLIC COMMENTS Please see participation instructions below

Board/Committee:	SCHOOL COMMITTÉE	
Date:	September 21, 2020	
Time of Meeting(s):	5:00 pm - Convene in virtual Open Session via Zoom, linked here, to vote to enter into a virtual Executive Session in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 30A, §§ 18-25	
	of the Massachusetts General Laws 7:00 pm — Reconvene Regular School Committee Meeting via Zoom , linked <u>here</u>	
Location:	Virtual Meeting w/Zoom Meeting*	
Signature:	Lísa A. Mazzola	

5:00 – 6:00 Convene Regular School Committee Meeting to vote to enter into a virtual **Executive Session** in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 30A, §§ 18-25 of the Massachusetts General Laws for Discussing strategy in relation to Collective Bargaining with the Newton Teacher's Association (NTA) regarding MOU for the reopening of schools.

7:00	1.	Re-Convene Regular School Committee Meeting
7.04	_	

7:01	2.	Superintendent's Update
7:05	3.	Public Comment: (up to 30 min)
7:35	4.	Agenda (60 min)

- a) Final FY20 Fiscal/Ops (with FY21 snapshot & brief Facilities Update) FY20 Final Fiscal & Ops
- b) Grants Update & Vote (<u>Grants Memo</u>)
- c) Discussion & Vote: MASC Conference Delegate and Alternate (<u>Delegate Form</u>)
- d) Discussion & Vote: METCO Bus Monitor Pay Scale Increase (METCO Bus Monitor Pay Memo)
- e) Vote: 6/8/20 & 6/22/20 Minutes (<u>6-8-20</u>, <u>6-22-20</u>)

8:35	5.	Communications
Adjourn		

How to Participate in Public Comment

To participate in the public comment portion of a meeting, please submit your NAME and ADDRESS by email with the subject line "Public Comment for [DATE]" to schoolcommittee@newton.k12.ma.us PRIOR to 7:00 pm, the official start time of the meeting. You will need to join the Virtual Meeting by computer or phone to participate. During the Public Comment portion of the meeting, the School Committee Chairperson will call your name. At that time, Unmute your microphone and Turn On Video to provide public comment. You are limited to 3 minutes.

Join the Zoom Meeting by Phone or Computer. Under both options you will be automatically muted with video off upon entering the meeting. Please leave your video and audio muted so that the meeting can proceed without interruption.

Join Zoom Meeting: https://zoom.us/i/390017072 Meeting ID: 390 017 072 Dial in:+1 646 558 8656 US Meeting ID: 390 017 072

Listen in on NewTV's broadcast – Visit the NewTV website for more information.

Next VIRTUAL School Committee Meeting: October 5, 2020 @7:00pm

Documents not available at time of posting on the City of Newton's Electronic Posting Board will be added as they become available and can be found via this link.

The location of this meeting is accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons requiring assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. For Telecommunications Relay Service, please dial 711.

The listing of matters are those reasonably anticipated by the Chair. Not all items may in fact be discussed and other items not listed may also be brought up for discussion to the extent permitted by law. Times listed are approximate. Public Comment is not a discussion, debate, or dialogue between citizens and the SC, it is a citizen's opportunity to express their opinion on issues of School Committee business. The Committee may respond to a public comment by taking it under consideration when deliberating on an agenda item or referring them to the administration for appropriate action or response. Public comment shall be for a period of 15 to 30 minutes with speakers being allowed to present their material(s) to the School Committee Secretary for distribution.