



CITY OF NEWTON SOLID WASTE COMMISSION

1000 Commonwealth Avenue Newton Centre, MA 02459-1449 Ruthanne Fuller, Mayor

Members: Steven Ferrey, Sunwoo Kahng, Brita Lundberg, Robin Maltz, Seth Parker, Marian Rambelle (Chair), Karen Slote, Miles Smith Ex-Officio Member: Jim McGonagle, Commissioner, DPW Advisory: Waneta Trabert, Director, DPW Sustainable Materials Management Division

Meeting Date and Time: Tuesday, January 21, 2020 at 7:00-8:45 pm **Location:** Newton Free Library, Room B

AGENDA

- 1. Introductions (2 min)
- 2. Approval of December 19, 2019 Meeting Minutes (3 min)
- 3. By-laws/Ordinance change update (10 min)
- 4. Public spaces recycling update (10 min)
- 5. Sustainable Materials Management Division update: Public comments received, curbside compliance, grant applications, School Committee presentation, new contract, organics subscription program, proposed reusable containers policy, proposed private hauler/recycling ordinance change, other items (20 min)
- 6. New bulky waste ordinance update (5 min)
- 7. Extended Producer Responsibility presentation (10 min)
- 8. Trash reduction goals update/2020 Commission goals (40 min)
- 9. Public comments/Other announcements (5 min)

Next meeting – February 20, 2020, 7:00-8:45 pm, Newton Free Library, Room B

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.

Telephone: (617) 796-1491 • Fax: (617) 552-7983 • recycling@newtonma.gov