

CITY OF NEWTON SOLID WASTE COMMISSION

1000 Commonwealth Avenue Newton Centre, MA 02459-1449 Setti D. Warren, Mayor



Members: Deb Crossley, Steven Ferrey, Alison Leary, Brita Lundberg, Seth Parker, Marian Rambelle (Chair), Miles Smith Ex-Officio Member: Jim McGonagle, DPW Commissioner Advisory: Waneta Trabert, Environmental Affairs Director

Meeting Date and Time: Thursday, August 31, 2017 at 6:30-8:00 pm Location: Newton City Hall, Room 211

AGENDA

- 1. Introductions
- 2. Approval of July 13, 2017 Meeting Minutes
- 3. Review of public comments received regarding trash and recycling
- 4. Update on educational efforts including recent city-wide mailing
- 5. Discussion to develop long-term sustainable materials management strategy
- 6. Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection grant update
- 7. Future meeting schedule and recruitment efforts
- 8. Public comments

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: <u>jfairley@newtonma.gov</u> or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.