



CITY OF NEWTON SOLID WASTE COMMISSION



1000 Commonwealth Avenue Newton Centre, MA 02459-1449 Setti D. Warren, Mayor

Members: Steven Ferrey, Sunwoo Kahng, Alison Leary, Brita Lundberg, Seth Parker, Marian Rambelle (Chair), Miles Smith Ex-Officio Member: Jim McGonagle, DPW Commissioner Advisory: Waneta Trabert, Environmental Affairs Director

Meeting Date and Time: Thursday, December 21, 2017 at 6:45-8:15 pm

Location: Newton City Hall, Room 106C

AGENDA

- 1. Introductions
- 2. Approval of November 16, 2017 Meeting Minutes
- 3. Update from polystyrene ban subcommittee
- 4. Update on recyclables contamination rate and upcoming Chinese import restrictions on recyclables, and impact on Newton's recycling program
- 5. Update on survey of other municipalities' practices regarding recyclables contamination
- 6. Discussion to develop long-term sustainable materials management strategy
- 7. Review of public comments received regarding trash and recycling, and compliance with trash and recycling carts policy
- 8. Public comments
- 9. Next meeting and member recruitment efforts

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.

Telephone: (617) 796-1491 • Fax: (617) 552-7983 • wtrabert@newtonma.gov