

Ruthanne Fuller Mayor

Barney S. Heath Director Planning & Development

> Devra G. Bailin, Director Economic Development

Commissioners Phil Plottel, Chair Jean Wood, Vice Chair Debora Jackson, Secretary

> Howard Barnstone Stephen Feller Robert Finkel Jeremy Freid Jack Leader Marcela Merino Beth Nicklas Joyce Plotkin Sarah Rahman Matt Segneri Chuck Tanowitz

1000 Commonwealth Ave. Newton, MA 02459 T 617/796-1120 F 617/796-1142

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AG E N D A DATE: TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2020 TIME: 6:30-8:30 p.m. PLACE: ZOOM CONFERENCE

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/198026272 or +16465588656,,198026272#

1. Attendance

- 2. Approval of Minutes of July 14, 2020
- 3. City Updates
- 4. Discussion Items:
 - a. Ideas letter
 - i. Recommended Ideas implemented
 - ii. Recommended Ideas under active implementation
 - iii. Recommended Ideas requiring EDC actions and formation of new EDC subgroups
 - 1. Private funding program (Item G on Letter to Mayor)
 - 2. Zoning language for
 - a. R&D and modern manufacturing (Item E.2.a)
 - b. home business ordinance (Item E.2.b)
 - 3. Working with NNRC on mentoring, marketing, and other matters (Item C1 and C4)
 - 4. Parking
 - 5. Other items to be prioritized
 - iv. Recommended ideas with no activity
 - b. Discussion of other activities
- 5. Other Business
- 6. Date of next regularly scheduled meeting— October 13, 2020
- 7. Adjournment

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.