
Employee Notice Regarding Massachusetts 

COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave 
 
 
Overview 
The Massachusetts COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave law requires employers to provide up to one 
week of paid sick leave to employees who need leave for a covered COVID-19 related reason.  

Employers may request reimbursement from the state for the cost of paid leave.  

The maximum amount an employer is required to pay per employee, and the maximum amount for which 
the employer may seek reimbursement for any one employee, is $850 (including cost of benefits). 

Effective Dates 
May 28, 2021 through September 30, 2021 (or until the exhaustion of $75 M in program funds)  

Reasons for Leave 
Employees can take leave for the following reasons: 

• To take care of themselves or get medical treatment due to a COVID-19 diagnosis or symptoms, 
or to get or recover from a COVID-19 immunization 

• To quarantine as required by a local, state, or federal public official, a health authority having 
jurisdiction, or a health care provider 

Employees can also take leave if they have to care for a family member in any of the above situations 

• Covered family members are an employee’s spouse, domestic partner, child, parent, grandchild, 
grandparent, or sibling, a parent of the employee’s spouse or domestic partner, or a person who 
stood in loco parentis to the employee when the employee was a minor child 

*In general, employers may not require employees to use other types of available paid leave before they    
  use COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave, or require employees to find someone else to cover the time     
  they will miss while using COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave. 

*Employers may not interfere with an employee’s ability to use COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave or  
  retaliate against an employee for taking COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave.  

How Much Leave Are Employees Entitled to? 
• 40 hours of leave for employees who regularly work at least 40 hours 
• For part-time employees, leave amount is based on average number of hours the employee works 

Requests for Leave 
Employers may require employees to submit COVID-19 Emergency Paid Sick Leave requests in writing and 
may require employees to provide medical and other documentation related to the request.  


