

Ruthanne Fuller Mayor

Barney S. Heath Director Planning & Development

> Devra G. Bailin, Director Economic Development

Commissioners Phil Plottel, Chair Jean Wood, Vice Chair Sarah Rahman, Secretary

Lisa Adams
Eryn-Ashlei Bailey
Robert Finkel
Jeremy Freid
Debora Jackson
Jack Leader
Marcela Merino
Joyce Plotkin
Matt Segneri
Chuck Tanowitz

1000 Commonwealth Ave. Newton, MA 02459 T 617/796-1120 F 617/796-1142

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION AG E N D A

DATE: TUESDAY, JULY 27, 2021

TIME: 6:30-8:00 p.m. PLACE: ZOOM CONFERENCE

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81246383785 or +16465588656,81246383785#

- 1. Attendance
- 2. Approval of Minutes of June 8, 2021
- 3. City Updates (including Introduction: Hattie Kerwin Derrick and 1021 Boylston Street Project Update)
- 4. Discussion Items:
 - a. Reports from Subgroups
 - 1. Report from Support Women and Minority-owned Businesses Subgroup
 - 2. Report from Zoning Redesign Subgroup (including Building Heights and special permit parking)
 - 3. Report from R & D Attraction Subgroup
 - 4. Report from Support Newton's Storefront Businesses Subgroup (Village Center Study)

b. EDC Meetings

- 1. Discussion on moving EDC meetings to minimize conflicts with ZAP and Land Use Committees
- 2. Discussion Virtual vs In-person meetings post-State of Emergency.
- 5. Other Business
- 6. Date of next regularly scheduled meeting— September 14, 2021

7. Adjournment

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities who require assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec. 504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: jfairley@newtonma.gov or (617) 796-1253. The city's TTY/TDD direct line is: 617-796-1089. For the Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS), please dial 711.