Property Address



## The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Department of Industrial Accidents 1 Congress Street, Suite 100 Boston, MA 02114-2017

www.mass.gov/dia

Workers' Compensation Insurance Affidavit: Builders/Contractors/Electricians/Plumbers.
TO BE FILED WITH THE PERMITTING AUTHORITY.

Applicant Information	Please Print Legibly
Name (Business/Organization/Individual):	
Address:	
City/State/Zip: Phone #:	
Are you an employer? Check the appropriate box:  1.	ors must submit a new affidavit indicating such. rs and state whether or not those entities have
mployees. If the sub-contractors have employees, they must provide their workers' comp. policy number of am an employer that is providing workers' compensation insurance for my employermation.  Insurance Company Name:	oyees. Below is the policy and job site
Policy # or Self-ins. Lic. #: Exp	
Tob Site Address: City Attach a copy of the workers' compensation policy declaration page (showing t	
Failure to secure coverage as required under MGL c. 152, §25A is a criminal violation and/or one-year imprisonment, as well as civil penalties in the form of a STOP WOI day against the violator. A copy of this statement may be forwarded to the Office of coverage verification.	on punishable by a fine up to \$1,500.00 RK ORDER and a fine of up to \$250.00 a Investigations of the DIA for insurance
I do hereby certify under the pains and penalties of perjury that the information provides $\mathcal{L}_{\mathcal{L}} = \mathcal{L}_{\mathcal{L}} = \mathcal{L}_{\mathcal{L}}$	
Signature: Yull Date	2: 02/01/2022
Phone #:	
Official use only. Do not write in this area, to be completed by city or town official.	
City or Town: Permit/License #	
Issuing Authority (circle one):  1. Board of Health 2. Building Department 3. City/Town Clerk 4. Electrical Inspector 5. Plumbing Inspector 6. Other	
Contact Person: Phone #:	

## **Information and Instructions**

Massachusetts General Laws chapter 152 requires all employers to provide workers' compensation for their employees. Pursuant to this statute, an *employee* is defined as "...every person in the service of another under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written."

An *employer* is defined as "an individual, partnership, association, corporation or other legal entity, or any two or more of the foregoing engaged in a joint enterprise, and including the legal representatives of a deceased employer, or the receiver or trustee of an individual, partnership, association or other legal entity, employing employees. However the owner of a dwelling house having not more than three apartments and who resides therein, or the occupant of the dwelling house of another who employs persons to do maintenance, construction or repair work on such dwelling house or on the grounds or building appurtenant thereto shall not because of such employment be deemed to be an employer."

MGL chapter 152, §25C(6) also states that "every state or local licensing agency shall withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit to operate a business or to construct buildings in the commonwealth for any applicant who has not produced acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance coverage required." Additionally, MGL chapter 152, §25C(7) states "Neither the commonwealth nor any of its political subdivisions shall enter into any contract for the performance of public work until acceptable evidence of compliance with the insurance requirements of this chapter have been presented to the contracting authority."

## **Applicants**

Please fill out the workers' compensation affidavit completely, by checking the boxes that apply to your situation and, if necessary, supply sub-contractor(s) name(s), address(es) and phone number(s) along with their certificate(s) of insurance. Limited Liability Companies (LLC) or Limited Liability Partnerships (LLP) with no employees other than the members or partners, are not required to carry workers' compensation insurance. If an LLC or LLP does have employees, a policy is required. Be advised that this affidavit may be submitted to the Department of Industrial Accidents for confirmation of insurance coverage. **Also be sure to sign and date the affidavit.** The affidavit should be returned to the city or town that the application for the permit or license is being requested, **not** the Department of Industrial Accidents. Should you have any questions regarding the law or if you are required to obtain a workers' compensation policy, please call the Department at the number listed below. Self-insured companies should enter their self-insurance license number on the appropriate line.

## City or Town Officials

Please be sure that the affidavit is complete and printed legibly. The Department has provided a space at the bottom of the affidavit for you to fill out in the event the Office of Investigations has to contact you regarding the applicant. Please be sure to fill in the permit/license number which will be used as a reference number. In addition, an applicant that must submit multiple permit/license applications in any given year, need only submit one affidavit indicating current policy information (if necessary) and under "Job Site Address" the applicant should write "all locations in \_\_\_\_\_\_(city or town)." A copy of the affidavit that has been officially stamped or marked by the city or town may be provided to the applicant as proof that a valid affidavit is on file for future permits or licenses. A new affidavit must be filled out each year. Where a home owner or citizen is obtaining a license or permit not related to any business or commercial venture (i.e. a dog license or permit to burn leaves etc.) said person is NOT required to complete this affidavit.

The Department's address, telephone and fax number:

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Industrial Accidents
1 Congress Street, Suite 100
Boston, MA 02114-2017

Tel. # 617-727-4900 ext. 7406 or 1-877-MASSAFE Fax # 617-727-7749 www.mass.gov/dia