SCHLESINGER AND BUCHBINDER, LLP ATTORNEYS AT LAW

STEPHEN J. BUCHBINDER
ALAN J. SCHLESINGER
LEONARD M. DAVIDSON
A MIRIAM JAFFE
SHERMAN H. STARR, JR.
JUDITH L. MELIDEO-PREBLE
BARBARA D. DALLIS
KATHRYN K. WINTERS
KATHERINE BRAUCHER ADAMS
FRANKLIN J. SCHWARZER
ADAM M. SCHECTER

1200 Walnut Street Newton, Massachusetts 02461-1267 Telephone (617) 965-3500

www.sab-law.com

July 27, 2022

BY ELECTRONIC MAIL

Richard A. Lipof, Chair Land Use Committee Newton City Council 1000 Commonwealth Avenue Newton, MA 02459-1449

Re: Petition #260-22/Crafts Development, LLC and SRG HoldCo Investments, LLC 34, 36, 38, 48, and 50 Crafts Street/19 and 21 Court Street

Dear Chairman Lipof,

Based on feedback from Councilors and neighbors, we have elected to remove the three parking spaces on Crafts Street from the proposal. We have replaced these spaces with an 8-foot wide, 63-foot long loading/drop-off and pick-up zone. We have also refined the geometry of the plan so this new zone is entirely outside of the current roadway, and thus there will be no narrowing of Crafts Street at this location. Attached hereto is a seven-page document entitled Crafts Loading/Drop-Off and Pick-Up Area which illustrates the proposal.

In addition, in response to Councilor Laredo's question about peak employee and visitor parking demand, we have prepared a six-page Parking Demand Summary which is attached hereto and which we will present at the August 9 public hearing.

Please feel free to contact me if you have further questions.

Sincerely,

Stephen 1. Buchbinder

Stephen J. Buchbinder

SJB/kba Enclosures

cc: (By Electronic Mail, w/enclosures)
Councilor Maria Scibelli Greenberg
Councilor Tarik J. Lucas
Councilor Andrea W. Kelley
Councilor Christopher J. Markiewicz

Richard A. Lipof, Chair July 27, 2022

Ms. Stephanie Moresco

Page 2

Councilor Andreae Downs
Councilor Alicia G. Bowman
Councilor Marc C. Laredo
Jennifer Breslouf, Land Use Committee Clerk
Jennifer Caira, Deputy Director, Planning and Development Department
Katie Whewell, Chief Planner
Mr. Robert Korff
Mr. Damien Chaviano
Mr. David Roache