





# CITY OF NEWTON SUSTAINABLE MATERIALS MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

1000 Commonwealth Avenue Newton Centre, MA 02459-1449 Ruthanne Fuller, Mayor

Members: Steven Ferrey, Alan Gordon, Sunwoo Kahng (Chair), Meryl Kessler, John Lewis, Robin Maltz, Marian Rambelle (Vice Chair), Karen Slote, Miles Smith, Carl Valente (Secretary)

Ex-Officio Member: Jim McGonagle, Commissioner, DPW Advisory: Waneta Trabert, Director, DPW Sustainable Materials Management Division

Meeting Date and Time: Thursday, December 15, 2022 at 7-8:45pm Location: Online

### **AGENDA**

- 1. Introductions (2 min)
- 2. Approval of November 17 meeting minutes (5 min)
- 3. January officer election (5 min)
- 4. Recycling sticker project update (15 min)
- 5. Discussion on recyclability of plastics (25 min)
- 6. Scope of a comprehensive zero waste plan (25 min)
- 7. SMMD update (15 min)
- 8. Public comments/open announcements (5 min)

### Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84198835314?pwd=QXBvb1RkbFlHaUJuQkRYL0k4YUMxQT09

Meeting ID: 841 9883 5314

Passcode: 060763

## One tap mobile

- +13017158592,,84198835314#,,,,\*060763# US (Washington DC)
- +13052241968,,84198835314#,,,,\*060763# US

# Dial by your location

- +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
- +1 305 224 1968 US
- +1 309 205 3325 US
- +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
- +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
- +1 646 931 3860 US
- +1 253 205 0468 US

The location of this meeting is wheelchair accessible and reasonable accommodations will be provided to persons with disabilities requiring assistance. If you need a reasonable accommodation, please contact the city of Newton's ADA/Sec.504 Coordinator, Jini Fairley, at least two business days in advance of the meeting: <a href="mailto:jfairley@newtonma.gov">jfairley@newtonma.gov</a> or (617) 796-1253. For Telecommunications Relay Service, please dial 711 or call City Hall's TTY/TDD line at 617-796-1089.

Telephone: (617) 796-1491 • Fax: (617) 552-7983 • recycling@newtonma.gov